Upcoming changes to Podio's Data Deletion and Retention Policy
Hi Podio Users,
We are making some changes to Podio's Data Retention Policy to ensure we keep our systems upto date and compliant.
These new policy changes will be made for:
Free Inactive Organisations
Inactive Free organisations will be notified of inactivity if every user in that organisation has been inactive for 90 days. This notification will happen via an email to all Employees users of the organisation. If even a single user logs into Podio after this email, we will not take any action, otherwise we will be deleting that organisation and its associated data after 30 days of this email.
Organisations that terminate their contract
For organisations that decide to end their contract with Podio, we will no longer downgrade such organisations to a Free plan, instead these organisations will be blocked immediately and will be deleted from our system in the next 60 days. If the organisation wishes to get access to their data again, they need to contact support to unblock themselves and upgrade to a paid plan within these 60 days.
Free Inactive User deletion:
Podio users who have not logged into Podio for 13 months are considered inactive and are eligible for deletion. These users in inactive state will receive an email at the end of 13 months of inactivity and will have 30 days to log into Podio to activate their Podio account before their data and account will be deleted.
We wanted to ensure that before these new changes come into action in the next few months, our users are aware of these changes.
Let us know in case of any concerns. Your data privacy is our utmost priority!
I was unaware of the "Inactive User deletion" policy being an "existing policy". Do the org or workspace admins get a notification email of "inactive users" being eligible for deletion?
We use Podio in education. Alumni have access to the course material and their updates over the years.
Benedict Stalder: Users that have been inactive for >12 months and are Free users (i.e belong only to one/more Free Organisations) are notified via email. Such users will have 30 days to activate their Podio account (login required) before their data and account will be deleted.The email notifications are placed to ensure everyone will have a chance to login and activate the account back.
Dellent No, to preserve the history of a workspace and to prevent confusion for other users, the items, posts or files created by the deleted users won't be deleted.
Donna Blyth Every user in the organisation you mentioned would have not logged into the org for 90 days and hence the notification would be triggered for them.
Hi Steffi - KIMKOM, we do not delete any organisations without prior notice. For free inactive organisations, we send email to all Employees users and for paid organisations, we block the organisations first for at-least a month before data deletion happens.
Please reach out to us on https://support.citrix.com/cscase/ams#/podio in case of more questions!
Dear Sumedha Panwar
interesting that other users experienced the same.
I had NO prior notice, when I asked customer service to show me the emails they sent they said "Sorry, we do not have those emails to share it with you. "
My team also worked one day in the organization before it just disappeared.
I'm a client since 2016 and wondering what happened.
Please sign in to leave a comment.