i think (and i'm sure i'm not the only one) that users acccess control should be upgraded. (maybe do a basic configuration and advenced configuration?).
it means user can insert/edit/update/delete items
Manage Own Only
user can manage (Create/Edit/Delete) items where he is in contact (like assign or creator).
it means user can view items only and can't manage it
View Own Only
it means user can view items where he is assigned only and can't manage it. So user will see projects where he is in team, will see tasks where he is assigned to, will see tickets with his department only and will see discussion where he is assigned to.