Post

7 followers Follow
0
Avatar

Delete Users from Employee Network/Directory

I don't know how to delete users from the employee network/directory. Maybe you have to be some sort of company superuser?

Wesley Miaw

Official comment

Avatar

Hi Wesley,

Correct - you'll need to be organisation admin in a Premium (paid) organisation on Podio. The organisation admin will have access to the User Management page and control the organisation from here: https://help.podio.com/hc/en-us/articles/201019828-User-Management

You are not charged "free spots" based on the employee directory - only on employees invited to workspaces.

You can remove the member from workspaces if you are workspace admin, go to the workspace, click the wrench icon above the workspace activity stream, then choose "manage members", now click on the member you want to remove.

You can also ask the member to leave the organisation. They can click the wrench icon next to the organisation name, then choose "Leave organisation". Could this work?

Cheers,
Sara - Podio

Sara Høeg Højlund-Rasmussen

Please sign in to leave a comment.

17 comments

0
Avatar

Thanks. Is it possible to have workspace admins? Requiring organization admins to manage individual workspaces doesn't scale well, and means there is a cross-contamination of admin privileges.

Wesley Miaw 0 votes
0
Avatar

So does it mean if I happen to add a wrong employee into the employee network, I couldn't delete her? I can only let her stay there while just not invite her into workspace?

victoria huang 0 votes
0
Avatar

Sara,

I am getting an error when I try to add my 3rd colleague to a workspace saying, "Your organisation has reached the limit of 5 free employees. To invite more people, upgrade to premium". Based on your response I thought that I should not have this limit as long as I keep my workspace membership at no more than 5 each. What is the correct way to assess this limit?

Thanks,
Kevin

Kevin Baker 0 votes
0
Avatar

Hey Kevin,

The limit is 5 in total for all workspaces, you might have more workspaces than one and thereby already 5 members in workspaces?

Let us know via "contact support" in top right corner and we can check your organisation to help you :)

//Sara - Podio

Sara Høeg Højlund-Rasmussen 0 votes
0
Avatar

"Employee Network" is acting as a workspace, I cannot delete the contact (who no longer works here) because she's in the "employee network" shared workspace. I can't see how to delete her from the "employee network" workspace, and she's taking up one of the five spots I have.

Tonaya Thompson 0 votes
0
Avatar

Hey Tonya,

The 5 free spots doesn't include the employee network - only all additional workspaces. So even if this person is still a member of the employee network it will not take one of the free spots in your organisation.

I do understand the error message you receive might be a bit conflicting to this.

//Sara - Podio

Sara Høeg Højlund-Rasmussen 0 votes
0
Avatar

Was just searching for a way to remove a contact from all of our users directories. We have a new user with the same name as an old user and despite having different avatars people often assign tasks etc to the old user. The old user was deleted from all workspaces using the user management interface but they still exist in each persons contact directory. This is a challenge but also a data security risk.

I'm instructing all of our users to remove the contact from their address book and have asked the old user to delete anything that does come through but we really need a way to prevent people from accidentally sending information to unauthorised accounts, or at least remove the contact from our teams podio address books.

Kris Gesling 0 votes
0
Avatar

Hey Kris!

This problem can easily be fixed from removing the contact from your contact section in the top blue bar: https://help.podio.com/hc/en-us/articles/201019918-Removing-contacts

Podio will keep you connected via chat (from "My contacts") even if the member has been removed from all workspaces and the employee network. If you don't like to be connected to this person, you simply remove them from the contact section.

//Sara - Podio

Sara Høeg Højlund-Rasmussen 0 votes
0
Avatar

Thanks Sara, this only solves the issue for me as an individual but requires each of our users to go through the process which takes time and there's no way to be sure they actually do it. We also can't really ask all our clients to log in and delete the old user from their contacts.
The only other resolution is that we've gotten the new user to change their profile pic to be bright red so that it's more obvious which one is which. Otherwise its still too easy for people to invite / send information to the wrong contact.
I understand ours is an unlikely scenario where two people have the same name but it's still a pretty big security risk for us.

Kris Gesling 0 votes
0
Avatar

I understand Kris. Unfortunately we don't have a perfect solution yet - unless you upgrade to unlock Premium functionality.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

//Sara - Podio

Sara Høeg Højlund-Rasmussen 0 votes
0
Avatar

Hi Sara, we have a premium account and have removed them in the 'user management' area but they remain as contacts in all of our users accounts. If there's another way to do this for premium users please let me know, but am sure its just a limitation.

Kris Gesling 0 votes
0
Avatar

"You are not charged "free spots" based on the employee directory - only on employees invited to workspaces."

Does this mean that we can have for example 5 members in the employee network, being only 4 of them included in workspaces thus only paying for 4 seats.

Is that correct?

Nuria Rodriguez Aubo 0 votes