If you no longer want a field to appear in future item creations, you can delete that field and keep current data intact for reference.
To do so, edit your template and hover over the field. You will see an "X" appear.
Click on the "X" icon. The dialogue box below will appear for confirmation. Clicking "Yes, delete" will remove the field from your template. By default your data will remain in the item, however, new items won't have the field available.
Selecting the option to "Also remove field from existing app items" will delete the data in that field from ALL your items.
Note: This process cannot be reversed!
To prevent data loss, we would recommend first exporting the data to an excel file.
After you delete your field(s), that data from the deleted fields will not export and they will not show in your cloned application.
CLEANING UP DELETED FIELD DATA FOR ITEMS
If, at a later time, you decide that you no longer wish this data to show in your items, you can remove it using the "Clean up deleted field values" option. With admin permissions, click on the application's "wrench" icon and select the option in the menu as seen below.
Read the confirmation dialogue box message carefully to continue the deletion process.
Please note: This process is not reversible and cannot be undone.