Removing members

In Podio you can remove members from workspaces, or, for upgraded organizations, you can remove members from your entire organization via the User Management page.

As an alternative to removing members yourself, you can also ask the member to leave the organization. They can click the wrench icon next to the organization name on the left, then choose "Leave organization."

Remove members from workspaces

Only workspace administrators can remove members from a workspace. Learn more about admin roles here.

To remove members of a workspace, go to its main Activity page, and look for the tile showing all the member thumbnails. Hover over that box to see a wrench appear in the top-right corner, click on it, then click "Manage Members." Then, find the unwanted member of the workspace in the list that appears, click "Actions," followed by "Remove from workspace."

Remove members from all workspaces in an organization (Upgraded organizations only)

If you're an admin in an organization, hover over the name of the organization in the left side bar, and click the small wrench icon that will appear. Then, click on User Management, find the user you'd like to remove from the list that will appear, and click "Remove from org."

If you are using the free version of Podio, then go to each workspace the user is in, and remove them from there - see the "How do I remove users from a workspace?" question.

You can also ask the member to leave the organization. This will be the best solution since they can do it with just a few clicks. They can click the wrench icon next to the organization name, then click "Leave organization."

Remove workspace admins from an organization

If you're trying to remove a member of the organization and this member is the only admin of a workspace, this will be the process:

If you're the admin of the organization, click the wrench icon to the right of the Organization name in the left navigation. Then go to User Management and click to remove the member. You will now be warned (see screenshot below) that this user is the only admin of a workspace. 

Important note:

  • If you (as the organization admin) are a member of the same workspace you will be the new workspace admin when removing the member.
  • If you (as the organization admin) are not a member of the same workspace, other organization admins who are members of the workspace will be admins.
  • If no organization admins are members all regular members of this workspace will be promoted as admins when removing the member.
  • If no regular members are in the workspace all members of this workspace will be promoted as admins when removing the workspace admin.
Here is a screenshot showing how the message will appear:

 
Note 
 
When you remove someone from your organization, their history and any content they have created will not be deleted. Everything the user created or commented on will remain as it was before they were removed.

If the user you remove is the last member of a workspace (meaning that he or she is the only one in the space), the workspace will be deleted from your organization. (You will be warned about this before removing the user.)
Was this article helpful?
11 out of 22 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk