If you have a single item in an app (say, a Lead in the Leads app or a Project in the Projects app) and want to share that to someone that doesn't have access to the workspace, there's a feature for that!
On any item you will see a Share button in the upper right. Click it and you can choose from all your Podio contacts, contacts from Google, or you can simply enter an email address. Be sure to explain why you are sharing the item in the text box - it's highly recommended to spend a little time making it clear what it is you're sharing and why.
If the recipient has not set up a Podio account yet, they will get an email notification, and will just need to set up a password to view the item. Existing Podio users will get a notification to let them know an item was shared with them.
Once you've shared an item with someone, they are now a guest on the item and will appear on the list you get from clicking on the number just to the right of the share button. You can easily revoke access from here later, should you need it. Similarly, guests will be able to see a list of all other workspace members and guests on one big list so they know how many people can see what they see. Guests can't create new items, see the app or anything else in the workspace. But they can interact with the item by commenting, editing the item, liking the item or its comments, and other types of interactions.
Sharing via contact field
In the app template, you can choose to enable automatic sharing in contact fields. Learn how this works here.
Please note: Once you turn this on for the app, everyone that can post to the app will be able to share items this way and it will happen automatically.
Sharing via @mention
If you're working with an item and you want to @mention someone who is not in the workspace, we'll give them guest access to the item. That way you can easily bring people in to work with you even if they do not already have access.
Sharing with read-only access
On the workspace member management page you have a full overview of all your workspace members, including all guests. You can remove guests from the entire workspace (revoking their access to all items in one go) and get a list of any items in the workspace they have access to. And of course you can invite them to the entire workspace.
Below you'll find a quick tutorial video showing how it works: